athlete profile image

Pam Psaila

My name is Pamela Psaila. I was born in Malta in February of 1981. Apart from being an athlete and coach I work as a custody administrator. I am also a mother of a 12 year old boy and wife. The two things I enjoy in my life are my family and training.

Read More

Follow @pamelapsaila on Instagram for the latest updates

Q&A with Pam

We asked all of our athletes a couple of questions to get to know them better. Check them out for yourself!

  • How many days per week do you train?

    6 times; 1 being active recovery.

  • What is your approach to dieting?

    A bit of everything including Nutella but mostly clean.

  • How many times per day do you train?


  • How long is an average workout?

    2 hours in the morming + 1 hour evening

  • Cardio or weights?

    Mix of both.

  • Training alone or with a partner?


  • What is your favourite thing to do on a rest day?

    Relax and spend time with my family and friends.

  • If you could achieve anything you dreamt of in your sport, what would it be?

    To be able to compete at the highest level of international competitions.

  • What is your go-to race day / competition song?

    Don't have one really but mainly I like to hear motivational songs/quotes.

  • If you could have dinner with one athlete / olympian (dead or alive), who would it be and why?

    Rich Froning and Matt Fraser - the two biggest athletes in the crossfit history so far.

  • Use three words that, in your opinion, describe the charactaristics of a champion.

    Humble, disciplined and positive.

  • If you could use one short sentence to motivate someone, what would you say?

    Believe in yourself and never give up.

Pam's Story

My life has always revolved around fitness, I started training gymnastics when I was 10 years old. By the time I was 15 I started going to the gym and did more strength training . After my son was born I decided to join the Women’s Kavallieri rugby team part of the same club my husband used to play for at the time.

I played rugby for 4 years and through these years was selected to play for the Malta’s National Team.

At the age of 32 my husband together with our friend opened THE PIT where our love for crossfit and functional fitness started. It has now been 8 years since I started and through these years I have competed in a number of international competitions including Strength in Depth London , French Throwdown and The Italian Throwdown which are amongst the biggest competitions in Europe . I’ve achieved podium finishes in most of them. I’ve also competed in team competitions with my husband and our team mate Dennis Thornton.

Competition is what keeps me going, I want to get better, fitter and stronger for my next competition that is my mindset. Everyday is a new challenge, you are never good enough there is always much to improve. However sports in my life helped me build a lot of self confidence too. Sometime it does get difficult to manage and find time for work, training, family and friends but I believe as long as you manage your time the best way you can it will work out. I cannot imagine my life without sports, that is what keeps me going.